top of page
Green Lotus 11.jpg

SMALL AND LIGHTWEIGHT STANDARD ZOOM FOR SONY | TAMRON 28-75MM F2.8 G2 PHOTO + VIDEO REVIEW


The Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 G2 is a standard zoom lens for Sony E-Mount. During this portrait photography session, I am using the Tamron 28-75mm G2 on the Sony A7III. Watch my review video below to see the autofocus performance in stills mode, focus accuracy, image quality, sharpness and more.

I am also testing the Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 G2 for video on the Sony A7sIII. I share video autofocus examples, focus breathing, AF performance while zooming and 4K slow mo portrait footage which you can see in my review.

Below are the final edited images of the Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 G2 + Sony A7III. I’ve included 1:1 views of the SOOC, unedited photos in my review video.

model mikayla makeup lidija j video dan @ i make films

All photos edited with my Hazel Lightroom Preset Pack!


IMAGE QUALITY AND SHARPNESS

We are starting off with a busy, textured background for our first few shots. At the beginning of the day, the weather was quite overcast. But the sun does eventually make an appearance!


In ideal weather, this lens‘ image quality really shines. I love the clarity and detail you can see in these shots. The lens did a pretty good job focusing on Mikayla’s iris even with strands of hair covering her eyes.


In my review video I have a comparison image between the Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 G2 vs Tamron 35-150mm f2-2.8 taken at a similar focal length and lighting conditions to compare the quality and sharpness.


AUTOFOCUS PERFORMANCE

I was so excited that I found this beautiful and colourful location to shoot at with this yellow building. Here is where the sun pops out for some backlit shots on the Tamron 28-75mm f2.8. Compared to our first spot, in this location we have less than ideal lighting to work with. There are no natural reflectors in my location bouncing light back to Mikayla’s face. I like getting to see how lenses perform in situations like this as we don’t always get to shoot with perfect golden hour lighting!

LENS BUILD

This Tamron 28-75 f2.8 weighs 540g which is a great weight for a standard zoom. In comparison the Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 weighs 835g and the Samyang 24-70mm f2.8 weighs 1027g.


Like the Tamron 35-150mm f2-2.8, this Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 G2 also features a USB-C port on the lens. You can use this port for firmware updates and changing functions of the lens. This lens is weatherproof and the USBc port as well. As I mentioned in my Tamron 35-150mm f2-2.8 review, I LOVE the addition of these USBc ports on lenses. It means you don’t have to purchase a separate dock on top of purchasing a lens to make sure your lens is up to date.


This G2 has external zoom and also a custom button.

BOKEH

It was tricky capturing good bokeh at the location of our portrait photoshoot. I’ve included photos taken on the Sony A7IV with the Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 G2 on another day where we can get a clearer look. These bokeh examples are included in my high resolution download gallery linked at the end of this blog post. You can see a small glimpse of the bokeh in the closeup portrait shot below. I found the bokeh to look very clean in this Tamron zoom!

CHROMATIC ABERRATION

I found this Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 G2 has very good handling of chromatic aberration. At our portrait photoshoot, we had very bright and harsh lighting to work with. I could only find a minimal amount of purple fringing in a couple of my shots of Mikayla. If you download the sample gallery, you will be able to see a tiny amount of green fringing around some of the tree branches too.

LENS FLARE

The golden hour we had on the day of our photoshoot wasn’t strong enough to produce any lens flare. I took extra photos on another day with the Sony A7IV to take a better look at the Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 G2 lens flares. While these flares appear on the more colourful side, I do like that they are soft. I personally think this is a fine amount of lens flare that can be easily blended into your photos. These lens flare photos are also part of my download gallery!


VIDEO

Finally, watch my review video above to see how the Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 G2 on the Sony A7sIII performs for video. I share eye AF examples, focus breathing, focus while zooming and 4K slow mo portrait shots of Mikayla.


All photos edited with my Hazel Lightroom Preset Pack!

RECOMMENDED FOR YOU
About me

About Me

Julia Trotti is a fashion and portrait photographer as well as a YouTuber. Based in Sydney, Australia and available worldwide... [Read More]

bottom of page