top of page
Green Lotus 11.jpg

HOW TO POSE MEN FOR PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY


Every portrait photographer should have a range of poses for their subject at a photoshoot. I work with many talented models who often already know how to pose and move around in front of the camera. I also work with people who have never been in front of a camera before and have no idea what to do! Your career as a portrait photographer will often find you with people who are both comfortable and uncomfortable in front of your lens. It's important to learn how to direct your subject and suggest poses to be able to capture the best portraits regardless of their experience.


Watch the behind the scenes video below where I demonstrate how I direct my subject at a real photoshoot. I share tips on compositions for your portraits, posing prompts to give your model and creative pose ideas that you can use at your next portrait photography session. During this photoshoot, I am photographing on the Sony A7III full frame camera body. I am also using the GM 35mm f1.4 which is my favorite lens for portrait and wedding photography.


Please subscribe to my YouTube channel, I upload new photography videos every single week!




If you enjoyed this blog post, you might also want to check out my other tutorial on How to pose people who are NOT models here! This tutorial includes even more posing ideas and posing prompts that you can share with your future photography clients.














RECOMMENDED FOR YOU
About me

About Me

Julia Trotti is a fashion and portrait photographer as well as a YouTuber. Based in Sydney, Australia and available worldwide... [Read More]

bottom of page